Denmark lands international declaration on carbon capture, utilization and storage: Aalborg-declaration

Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands and Sweden take important steps towards a European cooperation on carbon capture, utilization and storage.

Kadri Simson, European Commissioner for Energy, at the podium, during the third edition of the CCUS Forum. Source: European Commission

Europe needs a market and an infrastructure for carbon capture, utilization and storage. To push for that development, hundreds of participants from more than 30 countries gathered at the EU’s CCUS-Forum in Aalborg.

In light of this, five European countries have signed the Aalborg-declaration. The declaration states the importance of carbon capture, utilization and storage – and the need for developing a European market for it.

With this declaration, we are steering towards the development of a European market for carbon capture, utilization and storage. Today, we have seen the will of both decision makers and business to evolve CCUS – it’s absolutely essential for the green transition and our ability to reach Danish and European climate goals,” says Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities Lars Aagaard.

>> Read the Aalborg-declaration here

Dela artikeln på sociala medier

Läs fler nyheter